Musical Mondays! – Vows, a Kimbra Album (After Whining and Complaining)

You know what I really don’t like? ‘Hidden’ tracks at the end of songs.

I don’t know why bands do this. At the end of an album, they’ll toss in another song but not put it on a separate track. The last song on the track list just runs off into silence for a minute or two (or longer) before the super secret track starts up.

What annoys me the most is that I don’t understand the reasoning behind it. Is it just to make the track harder to get to? To make it a surprise?

Isn’t it harder and harder to do with digital media? I mean, let’s say I buy the mp3 version of the album from iTunes. Doesn’t iTunes tell me the length of each song? At best, I’d sit through the silence once, maybe twice. Then I’d just start skipping past it – but this is annoying, I just want to hear the music. That’s why I’m, you know, listening to the album.

Kimbra does this on her album Vows.

The hidden track appears after a minute or so of silence at the end of the album. What gets me is this – I listen to most of my music on my iPod. I really like the slow, hazy meanderings of the hidden track, and sometimes I would like to just skip to that song and hear it. But since it doesn’t have an independently listed track, I can’t just jump to it, I’d have to fast-forward through the song that comes first.

Bleh, I say!

Anyway, Musical Mondays, let’s get to that. Hm, okay, well I think I liked that Kimbra album, Vows. I first heard about her through Goyte’s “Somebody That I Used to Know.”

Kimbra is the lady that shows up at about 2:30. I thought I liked her voice, so I checked out her album. (And honestly, I like face-painting. It always looks neat to me.)

It’s certainly different. I had the impression – I don’t know why – that the album would be sort of like a pop album. It isn’t. It absolutely has elements of pop music, but like many of the albums I hear, it’s difficult to put into a single genre. The song ‘Call Me’ reminds me of some 70s soul music with its brassy intro.

Check out the first track, ‘Settle Down.’ It was a good hook for the album for me, maybe you’ll like it.

Video is nice and weird, which I also like.

As always, let me know what you think, and recommend any music you like – maybe I’ll like it, and then we can be music buddies!

About seansynthetic

"...so I says the the guy, I says to him, 'No, YOU ain't allowed back into this Chuck-E-Cheese.'"

Posted on January 16, 2012, in Musical Monday, Ramblings of an Unbalanced Mind and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

