Let’s Drink Beer! – Unibroue’s Terrible

The name of this beer told me all I needed to know.

But I did not listen.

(Source)

“Terrible,” a Canadian beer from a brewer called Unibroue, pours very dark – totally black, in fact. The head is thick and tall, and I thought I’d enjoy this beer – I like dark beers.

But it smells like sour wine. And it tastes like thick, sour wine. My friend Jeff came over when I was trying to drink this, and one of the first things he said was “It smells like cheap wine in here.”

It’s not at all what I expected, and for reference what I expected was beer, not wine. It’s 10.5% alcohol by volume – another thing I thought I’d like – but it has sort of a raisin-wine flavor to it that is very unpleasant.

Something rare happened – I couldn’t finish the whole bottle, but it certainly isn’t something I’d buy again. Beer lovers stay away, wine lovers give it a shot.

I have to give this one of my lowest ratings: pile of fish.

(Source)

About seansynthetic

"...so I says the the guy, I says to him, 'No, YOU ain't allowed back into this Chuck-E-Cheese.'"

Posted on January 11, 2012, in Let's Drink Beer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

